- Introduction
- E-Resources
- Grammar / Spelling Check
- Author Identification / ORCID
- Citation Analysis
- Literature Reviews
- Reference Style Guide
Central Library of CUO has started a new initiative called - Research Assistance Service (RAS) for strengthening the research activities by attending user queries related to various research guide tools like; Use of Electronic Resources, Grammar and Spelling Check(Grammarly), Reference Style Guide (Mendeley), Author Identification/ORCID, Citation Analysis (Scopus) and Check Plagiarism (Urkund), etc.
To provide these value-added services to CUOK community, library staff will help you in attending your queries and other user education and other related tools. Find more about this service click on Research Guide Tools or else contact at [email protected].
|
|
|
|
|
|
The term used to describe all the information products that a library provides through a computer network. This includes electronic books and journals, bibliographic databases, and library website pages.
Source: IGI Global
Economic & Political Weekly (EPW), published by the Sameeksha Trust, a registered charitable trust since 1949, is one of the Indian publications that enjoy a global reputation for excellence and scholarship.
2. Emerald Publishing:
Emerald’s leading Management database provide you with breadth and depth across all management disciplines, including the latest peer-reviewed, international research in both established and emerging areas of interest.
Backfiles Access is available since 1994.
3. EPW Research Foundation (India Time Series):
The EPWRF India Times Series (EPWRFITS), interactive online database launched in January 2011, is an initiative taken by the EPW Research Foundation (EPWRF) with an aim to provide credible time series data facilitating research across various sectors of Indian Economy.
Perceiving the indispensible role of and need for authentic time series data in socio-economic research and analysis, the EPW Research Foundation has built the EPWRF India Time Series based on the core values - ACCURACY, TIMELINESS and COMPLETENESS.
EPWRF India Time Series is a unique online database with its comprehensive coverage of Indian economy for a fairly long time period and it comprises over 50,000 variables capsuled in 18 modules. The database tries to provide in continuous time series from 1950 depending on the availability.
4. IndiaStat:
Indiastat.com is owned by Datanet India.
Datanet India was established as an IT-enabled private limited company in February 2000 to render its services in the socio-economic information domain.
Its first web site www.Indiastat.com was launched on 14th November 2000, which was inaugurated by the then Minister of State, Dept. of Statistics, Planning and Public Grievances, Govt. of India, Shri Arun Shourie at New Delhi. Indiastat.com serves with authentic and perhaps the most comprehensive compilation of secondary level socio-economic statistical information about India and its states on various socio-economic parameters.
These parameters are: General Info, Demographics, Economy, Agriculture, Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs, Environment and Forest, Industries, Infrastructure, Companies, Education, Health, Housing, Labour& Workforce, Polity, Media, Insurance, Tourism, Crime & Law, Social Welfare & Developmental Schemes etc.
5. ISID:
The Institute for Studies in Industrial Development (ISID), a sponsored institution of the Indian Council of Social Science Research (ICSSR), is a public-funded, non-commercial research and development institution in social science.
It provides access to Indexes of 125 Indian Social Science journals and major newspaper articles, editorials and news features.
6. Project Muse:
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers, providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. MUSE's online journal collections support a diverse array of research needs at academic, public, special and school libraries worldwide.
The Consortium subscribes to Project Muse Premium Collection which provides access to more than 600 titles representing more than 120 publishers.
7. Taylor & Francis:
Taylor and Francis, founded in 1798, is the oldest commercial journals publisher in the world, and one of the leading global academic publishers. Taylor & Francis Group publishes more than 1600 journals and around 1,800 new books each year Taylor and Francis provides quality information and knowledge that enable the customers and end-users to perform their jobs efficiently, continue their education, and help contribute to the advancement of their chosen profession.
The Consortium can access more than 1000 journals with archival access to 1998 onwards issues.
|
|
|
|
|
|
Some of the tips are as follows:
a) Write to the level of the intended audience.
b) Use standard font, margins, and spacing.
c) Cite your sources.
d) Avoid plagiarism.
e) Use the right vocabulary.
f) Check grammar and spelling.
Source: proofreading.
Grammarly’s algorithms flag potential issues in the text and suggest context-specific corrections for grammar, spelling, and vocabulary. Grammarly explains the reasoning behind each correction, so you can make an informed decision about whether, and how, to correct an issue.
Source: Grammarly
|
|
|
|
|
|
ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher and, through integration in key research workflows such as manuscript and grant submission, supports automated linkages between you and your professional activities ensuring that your work is recognized.
ResearcherID provides a solution to the author ambiguity problem within the scholarly research community. Each member is assigned a unique identifier to enable researchers to manage their publication lists, track their times cited counts and h-index, identify potential collaborators and avoid author misidentification.
In addition, your ResearcherID information integrates with the Web of Science and is ORCID compliant, allowing you to claim and showcase your publications from a single one account. Search the registry to find collaborators, review publication lists and explore how research is used around the world!
ORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor ID) is a nonproprietary alphanumeric code to uniquely identify scientific and other academic authors and contributors. This addresses the problem that a particular author's contributions to the scientific literature or publications in the humanities can be hard to recognize as most personal names are not unique, they can change (such as with marriage), have cultural differences in name order, contain inconsistent use of first-name abbreviations and employ different writing systems. It provides a persistent identity for humans, similar to that created for content-related entities on digital networks by digital object identifiers (DOIs).
Helps you to distinguish yourself as a researcher.
Helps to showcase your research.
Helps other (research funding agencies, researchers, etc.) to find your research output.
There are a variety of options for creating a unique identity, with ResearcherID, ORCID and Scopus Author Identifier are popular ones.
Read Author Identification Resources to know more.
|
|
|
|
|
|
As research becomes increasingly global, interdisciplinary and collaborative, you can make sure that critical research from around the world is not missed when you choose Scopus.
Benefits of Citation analysis:
- To establish the impact that a particular work has had by identifying which other authors based their work upon it or cited it within their own papers.
- To learn more about a field or a topic by identifying seminal works in that area.
- To determine what impact a particular author has had within his/her own discipline and beyond by looking at his/her total number of citations broken down by discipline and by country.
- For promotion and tenure purposes by looking at the quality of sources where a scholar’s work has been published and cited.
|
|
|
|
|
|
- A complete evaluation of the major research about the topic being studied.
- Studies and reviews literatures available on a particular topic.
- Act as a blueprint on a piece of research, such as a thesis.
- Identify related areas of research to be explored.
- Provides thorough understanding of earlier studies and presents important works.
- Helps to concentration on researcher’s own topic.
- Helps to identify a theoretical framework related to research questions or problems.
- Helps to find pros & cons of previous studies and failed methodologies to avoid commit same mistakes.
- Helps the researcher to avoid duplication of works.
Writing a faulty literature review is one of many ways to derail a dissertation. Read the article Here.
- Primary: Primary sources are original materials on which other research is based. (Examples like; Journal articles published in peer-reviewed publications, Patents, Proceedings of Meetings, conferences and symposia, Speeches, Records of governments, organisations, Interviews and News Paper Articles written at the time etc.).
- Secondary: Secondary sources are less easily defined than primary sources and are analyses and evaluations of primary sources.(Examples like; Biographical works, Textbooks, Comments & Criticisms, Autobiography etc.)
- Tertiary: Information which are condensation and collected from primary and secondary sources.
- Start collecting the most recent sources.
- Search literatures from variety of sources (like; books, journal articles, theses, conference papers and reports etc.)
- Search by keyword, subject, and on author also (try to broaden your search terms).
- Evaluate the searched information (whether from a refereed (peer-reviewed) journal? or written by a reputed author?
- Referencing is most important part of any research. Try to develop good referencing skills.
- Noting down on cards.
- Highlight the text in the articles.
- Write down on MS Word using computer or laptop.
- Try to note the difference between your ideas and those of other authors.
- Your notes must be clear.
- Don’t forget to provide clear references, including page numbers.
- Write your literature review by keeping your audience in mind. Your writing should be as per the level of understanding of targeted readers. Use only related terms to your research.
- Avoid all jargon and technical terms, if you are writing for the ordinary reader. Try to write in simple English.
- Keep your paragraphs short and simple.
- Make your writing readable by using subheadings. Subheading break up your writing into more readable parts.
- Avoid plagiarism by understanding the guidelines and acknowledge the source of ideas and quotations of other researchers.
Below are some common errors must be avoided:
- Don’t forget to cite essential relevant works.
- Always try to maintain a clear and logical flow.
- Try to avoid weak organization.
- Don’t use poor language and grammar.
|
|
|
|
|
|
Referencing software are very much helpful while writing your article / paper / dissertation / thesis. For more information explore:
Mendeley Mendeley Video Guides
Referencing is a standardised method of formatting the information sources you have used in your assignments or written work. Any given referencing style serves two purposes:
- acknowledges the source
- allows the reader to trace the source
To make the reference list and bibliography consistent and easy to read across different papers there are predefined styles stating how to set them out - these are called citation styles. Different subjects prefer to each use different styles. The following are the most popular:
- APA. APA is an author/date based style. This means emphasis is placed on the author and the date of a piece of work to uniquely identify it.
- MLA. MLA is most often applied by the arts and humanities, particularly in the USA. It is arguably the most well used of all of the citation styles.
- Harvard. Harvard is very similar to APA. Where APA is primarily used in the USA, Harvard referencing is the most well used referencing style in the UK and Australia, and is encouraged for use with the humanities.
- Vancouver. The Vancouver system is mainly used in medical and scientific papers.
- Chicago and Turabian. These are two separate styles but are very similar, just like Harvard and APA. These are widely used for history and economics.
APA Citation Examples (6th Edition):
- Book, one author, multiple editions:
- Ebook, online only:
- Journal article, three authors, with a DOI:
Fernández-Manzanal, R., Rodríguez-Barreiro, L., & Carrasquer, J. (2007). Evaluation of environmental attitudes: Analysis and results of a scale applied to university students. Science Education, 91(6), 988–1009. doi:10.1002/sce.20218
Sources: Cite this for me guide, What is referencing?.
|
|
|
|
|
|
APA Exposed Online Tutorial
APA Exposed from Harvard is organized into modules; includes audio and illustrations.
APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue University)
APA Style
From the American Psychological Association.
Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide
MLA Style Paper
MLA Format Papers: Step-by-step Instructions for Writing Research Essays